Race Tracks UK

The UK has a rich history in motor racing, producing some of the most iconic race car drivers, motoring journalists and world renown racing tracks. While most circuits don't appear on the international racing calendar domestic racing series utilise the nations best tracks to fill their event list every year.

We scoured the length and breadth of the British Isles to find every last temporary and permanent race track, including street circuits and recurring special event race, tracks anywhere in the UK.

British F1 Circuits

There have been 4 race tracks in the UK used for the pinnacle of international racing, the Formula 1. The table below outlines the key features for each track as well as the location.

Major Event Name Town County Lap length (miles) Lap Length (Km) Turns Grand Prix use Lap Record
Old British Grand Prix Aintree Motor Racing Circuit Aintree Merseyside 3 4.83 8 1954-1964 1:55.0
Old British Grand Prix Brands Hatch Fawkham Kent 2.43 3.91 6 1964-1986 1:09.5
Old British Grand Prix & Current Moto GP Donnington Park Donnington Leicestershire 2.5 4.02 12 1993 1:18.3
Current British GP & Current Moto GP Silverstone Circuit Silverstone / Whittlebury Northamptonshire 3.66 5.89 18 1948-Present 1:30.6


Starting in 1954, Aintree Motor Racing circuit was the home of the British grand prix on the Formula 1 calendar. Based in Merseyside in the North West it was eventually retired in 1964 by the Brands Hatch circuit in Kent with a fast lap the event was held at the venue from 64 - 86. One year, while both Brands Hatch and Silverstone were deemed unfit for the prize race Donnington Park with its twists and turns, were used for the 1993 race. In 1987 Formula One has been held at Silverstone in North Hamptonshire and apart from its one-year intermission, the race has been a secure fixture ever since.

race tracks uk
race tracks uk

Permanent Race Tracks UK

Major Event Name Town County Lap length (miles) Lap Length Km Turns Lap Record
International GP Anglesey Circuit (Trac Mon) Ty Croes Anglesey 2.1 3.4 11 1:21.7
Private Racing Bedford Autodrome Thurleigh Bedfordshire 3.8 6.12 13 n/a
Private Racing Blyton Park Blyton Lincolnshire 1.6 2.57 9 n/a
BRSCC Cadwell Park Lincolnshire Wolds Lincolnshire 2.17 3.48 18 1:21.1
British F3 Castle Combe Circuit Castle Combe Wiltshire 1.85 2.98 7 0:59.4
BGTC Circuit of Wales (Cylchffordd Cymru) Ebb Vale Blaenau Gwent 3.5 5.71 21 n/a
BTCC Croft Circuit Dalton-on-Tees North Yorkshire 2.1 3.4 12 1:13.7
Private Racing East Fortune race Circuit East Fortune East Lothian 1.86 2.3 6 n/a
Goodwood Festival of Speed Goodwood Circuit Chichester West Sussex 2.4 3.8 7 1:18.2
Formula Ford 2000 Kirkistown Circuit Kirkistown County Down, NI 1.53 2.46 9 0:50.8
BTCC Knockhill Dunfermline Fife 1.27 2.03 9 0:41.9
Track Days Llandow Circuit Llandow Vale of Glamorgan 0.9 1.45 5 0:41.4
FIA World Rallycross Lydden Hill Race Circuit Denton with Wootton Kent 1 1.6 4 0:38.3
Formula 3 Oliver's Mount Scarborough North Yorkshire 2.41 3.88 8 2:18.6
BTCC Oulton Park Little Budworth Cheshire 2.69 4.3 17 1:24.7
British Drift Championship Pembrey Circuit Pembrey Carmarthenshire 1.46 2.35 8 0:50.1
FIA European Drag Racing Santa Pod Raceway Podington Bedfordshire 0.25 0.4 0 0:03.6
BTCC Snetterton Circuit Thetford Norfolk 2.97 4.78 12 1:39.9
BTCC Thruxton Circuit Thruxton Hampshire 2.36 3.79 11 1:02.0


The Anglesey Circuit (Trac Mon) is host to the International GP with a lap record of 1:21.7 and 11 turns to compete with the lap a little over 2 miles long is a must drive for most. Cadwell Park in Lincolnshire is the home of the British Racing and Sports Car Club (BRSCC) and each year the calendar features Cadwell Park for multiple laps of its 2.17 mile (3.48 km) circuit with a count of 18 corners and a recorded lap time of just 1:21.1 making it one of the fastest race tracks in the country. Pride of the West coast is Cymru's Circuit of Wales (Cylchffordd Cymru), used during the British GT Championship it boasts one of the longest laps in the UK stretching 3.5 miles that's 5.71 Kilometres, a staggering 21 turns make up the course which is adapted depending on the event. A popular venue during the mecca for petrol heads in Chichester, West Sussex is the Goodwood Circuit home of the Goodwood Festival of Speed which uses a 2.4 Mile track with an all-time lap record of 1:21.2. The North of England is also host to a group of circuits including Oulton Park in Cheshire that plays host to the BTCC and Oliver's Mount in Scarborough that features the British Formula 3 series.

Street circuits

One of the biggest race circuits in the UK for cars is the RAC Tourist Trophy run on the Dundrod Circuit a series of closed roads stretching 11.91 Km with a massive 25 turns slowing the course record down to 3:17.9 which averages at 84 mph on a flying lap. A relatively new race that has taken the UK by storm is the Battersea Park Street Circuit in London for Formula E and all-electric prototype racing championship to rival Formula 1.

Major Event Name Town County Lap length (miles) Lap Length Km Turns Lap Record
RAC Tourist Trophy Dundrod Circuit Dundrod Lisburn 7.4 11.91 25 3:17.9
Formula E Battersea Park Street Circuit London London 1.82 2.92 17 1:24.2

Motorbike Circuits

Motorcycle races on closed public roads like the Isle of Man TT are popular throughout the UK, many rases including the Tandragee 100 in County Armagh, the famous North West 200 raced on the Coleraine's Triangle Road Race a 14.44 Km race with a 4:22.1 lap record and 13 turns the global Moto GP series also use the Dunrod Circuit in Northern Ireland stretching 7.4 miles through 25 bends for a record 3 minutes and 17.9 seconds once a year.

Major Event Name Town County Lap length (miles) Lap Length Km Turns Lap Record
Old Irish Superbike Championship Nutts Corner Circuit Crumlin County Antrim 0.83 0.97 12 ?
British Super Bikes Mallory Park Leicester Leicestershire 1.35 2.17 5 0:37.9
Private Racing Tonfanau Road Races Tywyn Gwynedd 0.82 1.32 3 0:38.9
North West 200 Coleraine's Triangle Road Race Coleraine Londonderry 8.97 14.44 13 4:22.1
Formula 600 Darley Moor Road Race Circuit Ashbourne Derbyshire 1.4 2.27 9 0:53.9
Moto GP Dunrod Circuit Dundrod Lisburn (NI) 7.4 11.91 25 3:17.9
Tandragee 100 Tandragee 100 Tandragee County Armagh 5.33 8.58 13 2:55.1


Britain has a rich history of motor racing that is evident today with a long list of tracks across the width and breadth of the UK.

Related Articles